GOAL GETTING

Sometimes when you wish to create something, you have so many ideas and very few beginnings. I have so many thoughts and ideas and concepts for this blog that I truly do not know which to start with. I know that this blog will take time, energy, effort and a patient audience to get up and running. Ah but where to start….

I believe the best place to start is with some goals. Both personal and professional. Personally speaking I feel the need to set some goals for personal growth and happiness. It has been hard at times to maintain both. As with everyone, I have had many ups and downs. And dwelling on the downs gets no one anywhere. So that is my first goal.

  1. Stop dwelling on the downs

I need to stop dwelling on the things that make me sad, or angry. And the things that prevent me from enjoying all I have to be ever so grateful for. I need to remember how to turn negatives into positives, and remember how to find the silver lining when it looks like lightening on the horizon. Which brings me to goal number 2.

2. Keep a gratitude log or journal

I want to keep a record of the things I take for granted. I want to remember that there is so much in this world to be thankful for everyday. I am talking about the small things that generally go unnoticed. Like a ride somewhere, or someone else giving me a small break and making supper for our family. Things that are definitely over looked in my every day life. Tied in to keeping a gratitude log would be my third goal…

3. Being present in life

So this goal seems simple enough, be present in my own life. However it is quite difficult. It is so easy now to be distracted by so many things in life. The kids, the routines, the internet, cell phones, computers, work, housework, the dog, my family, my friends or any short term crisis that may arise. However by dwelling on the bad (are you starting to see a pattern?) I miss out on the beauty around me, and I miss out on enjoying everything that takes place in my life. I miss my kids smiling, or being silly. I miss the dog making weird faces because he just noticed the sprinkler in the neighbours yard. I miss my fiance’s sneaky little smile cuz he was just staring at me and I didn’t notice.

I want to grow in my life and appreciate all that I have around me because I know it won’t be there forever. So these are my three main goals that I am going to work on right now. I will be posting updates and progress reports as I relearn how to be an active participant in my own life.

I hope you will all join me on this journey, and maybe even consider a journey of your own. I would love to hear about it.

Blessings

Steph

 

 

Leave a Reply

